My Mother’s Day card.

First off let me wish all my mothering readers a happy Mother’s Day.  A day where we get the recognition we totally deserve, well alongside doing all the other normal stuff we have to do everyday.

Mother’s Day doesn’t mean a stop for me.  It’s currently 7.07am (clocks have already gone forward remember!) and my tiny human, Tilly, has already barked her orders that she wants the iPad and a drink of milk in bed, pretty sure I should be the one being ran about after! 

Today I’m spending the day with some of my favourite women my mum and 2 sisters (alongside all of the respective people’s husbands/kids and dogs) and we are just having a get together and some KFC because a few weeks back we decided to have a day where we had to do nothing.  I’m sure you can all appreciate that today still involves, tidying the house, getting he kids sorted and general stuff that no one day can stop but I am doing as little as is humanly possible today!

I have a card, a bottle of wine and some Tilly made cupcakes for Mother’s Day and it’s more than I need.  Money’s always tight in the Fleck household but what we lack on money we more than make up for on madness, love and laughs. Mouse made me a beautiful cut out hand butterfly, which I have proudly displayed on the side of the fridge with all of the ‘picassoesque’ works of art and she brought me a daffodil back from little school on Thursday. It’s the little things that mean the world. 

If you have read my blog in the past you would probably know I never really wanted children but since falling pregnant and in the subsiquent years since I have realised that this is what I was made to do.

Being a mother to me is standing by TillyMae through every up and down, temperature and temper tantrum, supporting her individuality and loving her unconditionally .  I think me and her father have actually done a pretty awesome job so far, even if I do say so myself, she tells me 44,000 times a day that she loves me, that I’m beautiful and smart and gives out hugs and kisses like they are going out of favour.  She’s affectionate and passionate, moody and independent, intelligent and self assured and pretty much an amazing character.  I wish I had her compassion and conviction and she’s only 3 1/2 years old (going on 33!). Don’t get me wrong there have been times where I have wanted to put her out with the bins in the hopes they take her, days where I have locked myself in the bathroom and cried, where my anxiety mixed with the responsibility of keeping her alive AND well balanced have been crippling but those clouds pass and the sun comes out when I see her repeatedly dancing and singing to the opening theme tunes of her favourite shows, or she offers me her last sweety or bite of cake.

I hope you all have a great day and are treat like the queens you all are. Never forget you are amazing, you are doing the hardest job on the planet and nailing it.  One day your babies will be grown and have babies of their own to pass on the skills YOU have taught them, well done you. Plus when it all goes totally tits up I find wine helps.
Signing 0ff with love and lipstick,

Pip 💋🖤💄

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

